MQTT Broker Implementation

I am using MQTT to exchange variables with the outside world. For this I am using this excellent Paho implementation successfully: GitHub - br-automation-com/paho.mqtt.c-ar: MQTT Client for Automation Runtime based on eclipse/paho.mqtt.c

To minimize the number of devices required in my setup I would like to integrate a simple MQTT Broker into the PLC. Does anyone know of a decent implementation which can be ported or is there a ported version already somewhere?
Any pointers are highly aprecciated!

Hi Gerald,

I’m not a expert, but I don’t think that there’s a already existing port of a MQTT broker for Automation Runtime.
I personally use the Mosquitto MQTT broker running on a rented Virtual Linux Server.

One idea could be using a Hypervisor with AR and Linux as GPOS system, and install the broker in the GPOS. But then you need a hypervisor suitable hardware (APC / PPC).
Of course, then the broker is also not running in AR, but at least on the same hardware device.

The system is based on a X20CP1586. Right now I am running Mosquitto on a Raspi to do the job, but I like to eliminate this to save cost.

Maybe somebody has ported a broker like this NanoMQ: An Ultra-lightweight MQTT Broker for IoT Edge already.

I actually think that the https://github.com/eclipse/mosquitto broker is a good candidate to port. It is very extensively used, it has tons of test cases that can be used to verify the porting, and its all written in c/c++. The size of the codebase is similar to the https://github.com/eclipse/paho.mqtt.c, and from what I can tell, it has switches to disable external build dependencies, meaning dependencies will be towards a POSIX interface.

The only problem is that you need to port it. Because this has been done before for openssl and paho-mqtt, I don’t expect such an endeavor to be all too dramatic - but then again, it still needs to be done.

cheers